Jet 10x24 Compound Slide

Erevojoe

Registered
Registered
ok, I've posted questions about this lathe before but I'm starting over with a new post. I've had enough trial and error to phrase my questions a little bit better and might be able to understand the answeres this time.

I have a 1976 jet 10x24 that I've been rebuilding for about two months now. The compound rest/top slide was missing and I tried finding a piece from another unit that would work but now I'm just going to make a new one. My biggest mistake so far was thinking that the top of the compound should be level with the centerline of the spindle. I bought a used unit, got it bolted up and then realized that with the tool post and the tool holder, the cutting edge was now 1.5" above the center of the chuck. So, 1/2 of that money was waisted cause cutting that much material out of the new slide would not leave much material left between the tunnel for the threaded rod and the area behind the tool post. So here are my questions.

1) what is the standard gap between the top of the compound and the center of the chuck on a 10" lathe

2) what material is good enough for a compound slide? Ductile is too rich for my blood. I'm looking at either a 2024 al or 6061 al. I might go with a cold rolled steel. I'm new to this. The old one looks like it was cast iron and the new one looks like a high grade cast ductile. Looking at basic specs of those materials I'm guessing any material with a tension strength over 40k would be good enough. I just want to make sure I'm using something strong enough, but soft enough to be the weak link in the event of a crash. I'll take s broken slide over more expensive parts any day of the week.

Thanks.

I used to have that very lathe,but that was in the early 70's. A great little lathe,it was!

However,I have no idea at this point about the measurement you seek.