Jet HVM728 Horizontal/Vertical Mill Electrical Panel Issue

ford65

Registered
Registered
Hello all,

I'm new to machining (and learning a lot from this forum) and I recently purchased a Jet HVM-728 that was removed from service in a nearby VA Hospital welding shop. The machine looks to be in good shape but it appears as if it has never been cleaned in 30+ years! One big issue that I have to address is that when they took it out of service, they cut a great deal of wiring in the electrical panel. I have seen this happen on several pieces of electrical equipment removed from the VA, and it makes no sense to me why they do this. I’m certain they cut wires and removed a 14 position terminal block. I was just checking to see if there is anyone on the forum who has a similar machine and can help me out with this issue by taking some pictures of the inside of the electrical panel of their HVM-728. This might help in determining a sensible routing to this wiring mess I have acquired. Thanks for any help you can give me on this. (I'm not certain if the pics will post correctly, as I have little experience on posting pics!)
IMG_0301.JPG
IMG_0298.JPG
IMG_0303.JPG

Whoever clipped the wires did it on purpose to discourage bidders at the auction. Then they could buy for it for a song. No doubt they also have the wiring schematic.
Best bet is to contact Jet for a manual.

here is manuals that may help
the second and third manuals have wiring schematics

Attachments

• HVM-728.pdf
    679.9 KB · Views: 33
  • HVM-728 OPERATORS MANUAL.pdf
    1.8 MB · Views: 39
  • HVM-728 OLD .pdf
    2 MB · Views: 31
  • HVM-728_OCRd.pdf
    705 KB · Views: 33
i owned a Trans World Steel VHM-728, a sister to the Jet-728

basically, you have 2 contactors that are responsible for directional control
you have one contactor that operates the coolant pump
the transformer creates the 110v control voltage for the operation switches