Lacking Confidence?

Uglydog

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
As I write this I'd like to emphasize I am not a machinist. I'm a hobbyist who read some books on how they did things before so much went digital and CNC. I've been blessed with the opportunity to ask endless annoying questions of humble patient persons who I will dare call mentors.

This evening I got an email from someone who is struggling to parent a growing family on a tight budget. This person has huge zeal for being safe, and doing good work while being thrifty. He really enjoys his metal work as an escape from work. He needs to do a project which he deems way above his abilities. I don't believe that it is. And I intend to help him slowly wade through the challenges the project will bring him. The following is my cut/paste email response to his humble floundering. It wasn't so long ago, that I was where he is now. I thought some of your HM noobs might find this helpful. Anyway please be encouraged.

"I started woodworking when I was about 17years under the auspices of a retired long haul trucker.
I made a huge boof. I cut some boards two small for the project. Boards for which I didn't have time or money to replace.
He taught me many things.
One of which is that the difference between a master craftsman and a novice is not that the master craftsman makes fewer mistakes.
The difference is that the master craftsman knows how to hide them so no one ever sees them.

There is a long history of machinists not wanting to share their tricks.
I attribute this history to the idea offered by my wood mentor Everett Bruce the trucker. These machinists/welders don't want to be found out....
Your abilities are good. Like the Lion, TinMan, Scarecrow, and Dorthy all you lack is what you already have."

Be safe, spend your money carefully, do your best and have fun.

Daryl
MN

Last edited: