Lathe CNC Conversion Questions …

simspace

Registered
Registered
I have an Emco Maximat Super 11 lathe. I have already ripped out all the original electronics and converted it to use a VFD.

Now I want to do full-blown CNC conversion! I will most likely go the servo route instead of the stepper route.

The big decision for me is replacing the main headstock motor and ripping out all the drive gears.

There's a few reasons why I want to remove the headstock gears and replace the headstock motor ...
  1. The main reason is worn/failing gears or worn/failing gear shifting forks. The gearbox has become really noisy especially in the low gears.
  2. I want the CNC system to control all motors.
  3. The lathe will be much quieter without the gears (a "nice-to-have" but not important).
What type and size of motor should I use to drive the headstock?

Is there a reason I should not replace the headstock motor?

Is there a reason I should not remove the gears?

I am still learning about the CNC conversion process, so any advice is appreciated.

Thanks!

@JimDawson thanks for the response. Wow, that's pricey! Maybe I'll have to stick with the current motor, gears and VFD and get the other axes and threading working first. I assume there's a way of getting Linux CNC to control the headstock motor speed via the VFD. I'll have to research that. I'll also check eBay for used servo motors and controllers to see what's available.

@JimDawson thanks for the response. Wow, that's pricey! Maybe I'll have to stick with the current motor, gears and VFD and get the other axes and threading working first. I assume there's a way of getting Linux CNC to control the headstock motor speed via the VFD. I'll have to research that. I'll also check eBay for used servo motors and controllers to see what's available.