Lathe height question and what to do about it.

finsruskw

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
OK Guys...
So this is where I want the 9A to live.
Close to a power source and light.
Only issue is, where it sits now on these dollies, is really a comfortable height for me.
What to do about securing it there, at this height, about 37" to the top of the chip tray, is the question.
The dollies are/were for moving it around in the shop for the present, temporary at best!
I suppose pouring a solid concrete base secured to the floor would be one answer, but that, for me, would be the last option
so I am open for suggestions here.
Thanks!

DSCN8040.JPGDSCN8041.JPG

Cement paver blocks? Or maybe just build up a platform of 2x8's?

John

I'm no expert on the subject, but it's been hammered into my brain by many of our seasoned members that stability is an absolute for a lathe. As far as lathes go, your 9A is fairly light, so I would think stability would be relatively (and that's a key word) simple to achieve. Stability is essential to maintain alignment. Once that's been achieved, keeping it aligned becomes the challenge: the less stability, the more vibration; the more vibration, the more potential movement.

A major part of achieving stability and alignment is even contact of all points with the floor. It's my understanding that's the main reason most large lathes have adjustable feet or pads under each point. I recently did a rebuild on a South Bend shaper where I ran into this issue. I made some adjustable foot pads out of 2" round stock and attached them to the shaper. They worked great.

IMG_0574.jpgIMG_0575.jpgIMG_0576.jpg

Given the height enhancement you need to achieve, I agree with Nogoingback's recommendation of a steel stand. I would use fairly heavy square tubing (4" by 1/4" wall - is what I used for a stand for my horizontal bandsaw). It's hard to tell from his photo, but it looks like he has adjustable feet on his stand, as well.