Lathe Order Of Operations?

mzvarner

Registered
Registered
I am new to the mini lathe (machining in general). I have a few basic books, but have not seen this addressed yet. Is there an order of operations when making a part? I think facing is always step one, but after that is it best to drill, bore, turn, angle? I have run into a few issues with some intro projects where I turned an angle to early then did not know how to hold the part (luckily it was threaded so I chucked it with a bolt holding it).

Order of operation is one of the most critical considerations in machining. As far as I know there is not much in writing on this subject because no two setups are the same. As you gain experience, you will ''see'' the order of operations. Unless it's a very simple part with only one setup I always machine the entire project in my head before I ever make a chip. Spend the time to just sit and think about how you are going to hang on to, and machine the part during each operation. Many times on complex parts I spend more time thinking about how to do it than the actual machining time.

Order of operation is one of the most critical considerations in machining. As far as I know there is not much in writing on this subject because no two setups are the same. As you gain experience, you will ''see'' the order of operations. Unless it's a very simple part with only one setup I always machine the entire project in my head before I ever make a chip. Spend the time to just sit and think about how you are going to hang on to, and machine the part during each operation. Many times on complex parts I spend more time thinking about how to do it than the actual machining time.
Welcome to the forum.