Lathe recommendations for beginner home workshop?

svideo

Registered
Registered
Not sure if this is the right place for this but I know there is a lot of talent here and am hoping I might tap into the collected wisdom of those far more experienced with these tools than I'll ever be.

I'm a woodshop home gamer looking to extend my reach into metal. I have some limited experience operating a Bridgeport and have placed an order for a PM-728VT benchtop mill from Precision Matthews. That decision was reasonably-informed as I had some basic background experience there.

I'd also like to pick up a lathe for the home shop, but having never once touched a lathe I have very little idea of what exactly I should be looking for. My use cases are pretty simple, everything I tend to work on happens to be small. I primarily have been making small electronics and simple mechanical contrivances on a one-off basis. As a result, I don't foresee a need for a huge bed/swing as I'm unlikely to be turning gun barrels or what have you.

With that said, here is my entirely-uninformed-by-any-experience list of thing I think I might want. If anything in this list is dumb, I'm interested in being told about it :D

• Ability to cut a reasonably-wide range of materials, including most grades of steel
  • Speed of machining time isn't super important, if one can get a less-massive lathe that can still cut steel but with a smaller DOC then I am totally OK with that
  • Machine size in respect to the size of the work that can be handled isn't super important, but I understand that size also relates to capability and would be willing to buy a bigger machine just to get a better machine if needed.
  • I'm in the US but would prefer metric tooling if that's an option
  • Single-phase power up to 20A would be preferable