Lathe Tailstock Tool Holding

BigWalt

Registered
Registered
Alright so I’m a newbie here so don’t throw too many darts; I have a general question about tool holders in tailstock of metal lathes. What is the best option for all around tool holder in a tailstock with Mt 3 taper? 1. Drill chuck system 2. ER collet system, 3. 5c collet system if available. Looking across the board to see which will provide best solution for Drill bits, reamers, etc. without having to buy more than one tool holder system. Which is more accurate, has best tool holding capability and adaptable to more tools types.

Drill chuck & live centers are what I use the most in my TS. A drill chuck primarily sits in my TS. I've seen people use ER collet chucks in a TS but I really don't understand why. So much slower to use than a drill chuck & the added accuracy of collets doesn't matter for drill bits. A drill bit is just used to make a hole, not to make an accurate one. Perhaps for an endmill but I'm not a fan of using endmills in a TS. There's no side load using an endmill in a TS so holding one in a drill chuck should be fine if needed.

depending on your work, i'd suggest getting a drill chuck with a 5/8 capacity
most tools will fall in that category for a lot of different projects
expect varying levels of accuracy, dependent on how much you wanna spend
drilling is not inherently accurate in the first place, so don't get too hung up on the accuracy of the drill chuck
holding power is more important than appearance or name
i purchased a 5/8 capacity drill chuck in MT2 from Shars for about 50 bucks
i was impressed with the quality and gripping strength of the keyless chuck.
you can go higher end, like Albrecht chuck, if you wanna drop some coin(i have 2 of those too)

i was impressed with the quality and gripping strength of the keyless chuck.

So tight that I'll never use a S&D drill in a keyless chuck ever again. :)