Littlemachineshop Bench Top Band Saw - Anyone Have Experience

angelfj1

Active User
Registered
I need an easy way to cut stock so I've been looking at band saws. Most of what I do/will be doing involves stock less than 4"x 6" and primarily 6061 aluminum. LittleMachineShop has their bench top band saw on sale right now for $230. Can someone provide a review of this saw, plus and minus, etc.

Thanks, Frank

Frank said "involves stock less than 4"x 6" and primarily 6061 aluminum"

Are you saying that the alum block is 4" x 6" bar or are you cutting a piece of flat stock that is, for example, 3/4" thick and 4" wide into 6" long pieces? How many pieces?
The reason that I ask, is that this is my usual type of material to use: 6061 aluminum in sheet or bar form or aluminum tubing. I caution that I am a newbie on the machining front so take whatever I say with that in mind.

I am not familiar with this particular saw, but it appears to be a bench mounted version of a hand held bandsaw variety that I have used. Mine is a Rigid brand from home depot.
As a hand held, it is a very useful tool and I think that someone in this forum recently posted that they adapted one of the handheld units to a pivoting bench mount, (which would be my preference). I cut all of my aluminum and brass on my radial arm saw equipped with a carbide tipped metal cutting blade, and it cuts truer and more quickly than I could ever do with my hand held band saw. It takes a fair amount of set-up time consisting of holding the pieces firmly to the table, and each cut is only 1/8"-3/16" deep. If I had my druthers, I'd put my hard earned cash elsewhere, but then I'm a real cheapskate. The table and vise shown on the Little Machine Shop saw seems to be rather light weight to me, but I think that this what you should expect at this price point.

CHuck the grumpy old guy