Locking BusyBee Mill Spindle

Stratty

Registered
Registered
I recently picked up this Busybee mill from an estate sale. I'm very new to hobbyist machining (pardon incorrect terminology) and have started to disassemble and clean the machine prior to putting it to work. The one thing I cannot figure out is how to lock the spindle to remove the collet and tooling. It looks like the previous owner was grabbing the spindle with a pipe wrench to loosen the draw bar. I used and impact to initially get the tooling out but would like to figure out how I'm supposed to do it.

Some machinist friends think that it was manufactured for morse tapers - but was retrofitted to accept R8 collets.

The mill
PXL_20240107_021228533.jpg

Drawbar insert hole
PXL_20240110_011431239.jpg

PXL_20240110_011530107.jpg

Only the inside column spins, but there is no keyway or hole for locking mechanism
PXL_20240110_011636341.jpg

PXL_20240110_011925061.jpg

PXL_20240110_011932594.jpg

PXL_20240110_012337646.jpg

I recently picked up this Busybee mill from an estate sale. I'm very new to hobbyist machining (pardon incorrect terminology) and have started to disassemble and clean the machine prior to putting it to work. The one thing I cannot figure out is how to lock the spindle to remove the collet and tooling. It looks like the previous owner was grabbing the spindle with a pipe wrench to loosen the draw bar. I used and impact to initially get the tooling out but would like to figure out how I'm supposed to do it.

Some machinist friends think that it was manufactured for morse tapers - but was retrofitted to accept R8 collets.

The mill
View attachment 474019

Drawbar insert hole
View attachment 474020

View attachment 474021

Only the inside column spins, but there is no keyway or hole for locking mechanism
View attachment 474022

View attachment 474023

View attachment 474024

View attachment 474025
Looks great.
I would find R8 collet and see fits.
I could been last one made with R8.

Dave