[How-To] Low voltage 480v motor?????

MyLilMule

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I have a piece of machinery that I was told by the previous owner that it was 480v 3 phase, but he hadn't ran it in over 20 years.

I can't get to the data plate on it (yet), but I removed the cover to the pecker head and the 9 wires were wired for low voltage.

When I tried to run the motor on my RPC (I know my RPC is big enough for the motor), it seemed kind of anemic.

It could be a dying motor, but could the previous owner be correct, that it is 480v, but the wiring for it is still the same a a low voltage diagram? I wouldn't think most 480v motors would even start on 220v.

I'm no expert on 3 phase motors, just know enough to get them running.

image2_motors copy.jpg

Last edited:
You only have to Google "Three Phase Motor Connections", and switch to "images" to get a bewildering array of star (WYE) and delta connections, including transformers using both in the same device. While the star and delta connections are easy to understand when drawn out as circuit diagrams spread out in a triangle, the way we see it gets connected is when the ends of the motor windings (shown as coils) are re-arranged so that short metal connection links can be placed between them in various configurations.

The thing to get straight in the mind is "where are the windings between the connection points" we can see ?
Decode where the coils are between the "T" designations.

Next is to know that the connection that uses the LOWER voltages is the DELTA.
The connection that uses the HIGHER voltages is the STAR kind, also called WYE.