Material choice?

KellyLee

Registered
Registered
Hello, just trying to dive in to all this and learning as I go. I'm a complete novice and have everything to learn.

Anyway, as from my introduction post, I'm working on a project where I need to make an adapter. I was originally thinking of making the part from 6061-T651, and a slightly different overall design, but realized that I could simplify the part making it easier to machine and thinner (for space considerations) using steel. However, material selection is overwhelming to me at the moment and could use some input and guidance.

Looking at my 3D model below, the center hole will be tapped to a M12x1.5 internal thread. This part, when assembled, will be threaded on to a small crankshaft and torqued down to 47ft-lbs. My question, which steel would be the easiest to machine yet strong enough to hold that amount of torque on the threads? Would hot rolled A36 work for this or do I need to step up to something like 4140 or ??? The part is a non-wear piece other than installation and removal but can be spun up to 10,000 rpm and will be used to keep the much heavier flywheel in place when torqued down.

Sprag adapter v2.jpg

Without going through all the numbers, I suggest going with a material with about 120K psi tensile strength (4140 PreHard)

A quick Google search came up with (approximately) these values: Tensile strength for 8.8 grade material = 800 N/mm² = 116K psi.
Recommended torque for 8.8 12mm x 1.5mm = 62ft-lbs (unplated).

If this part is a mounting flange for a 10K rpm flywheel, stripping the threads may not be your biggest design challenge.
At first blush, and without knowing anything else about your design/function, you might want to consider incorporating a generous fillet radius at the transition from the hub to the disk, even if you have to add spotfaces for the fasteners.