Meet My Induma 1-S Mill

walterwoj

Registered
Registered
This is my officail new equipment introduction thread. The Machine is my well used Induma 1-S Mill. I've got a lot of pics for you and I'll tell you what I know (or think I know). BTW, I'm a total machining noob, never machined anything in my life until I bought my lathe last year so I'm very open to constructive criticisms!
IMG_20200512_195805.jpg
So I drove 2 hours to Rochester, NY to pick this machine up. It's got a few little gremlins but I think I can sort them all out eventually.

It came wired for 3 phase. I added the VFD since I don't have 3-phase at my house. It's set to start up in 3 sec and shut down that fast. I think I'll speed up the shutdown so I can use it for power tapping ( .5 sec?). I also wired the VFD to the drum switch but its not working. The parameters are set and the wires run but it doesn't respond, support ticket submitted.:confused:

Like my VFD support arm? I made it out of wood temporarily until I can make a better one out of metal. I think that design is good as it will let me reposition the VFD anywhere and move the whole mill arm If needed without messing up the VFD.

I've already had the step pulley section off because the low gear lockout would not release. Some dummy pounded on the top and peened the sleeve until it wouldn't move (then pounded some more to make it move when he wanted it to. :eek:) I pulled the sleeve out, chucked it up on the lathe (for holding only),marked it with a sharpie about 1/2" from the peened end and very gently filed it until the file didn't reveal any high spots. Now it slides in and out effortlessly by hand. While I had it apart I noticed the two bearing were crunchy, so I replaced them. Now it runs but has a slight clunky sound at high speed but not low, gotta sort that out.... :confusion:

Someone replaced 2 of the ball ends with those chunks of white plastic (delrin?) So I'm gonna make a couple new ones.
IMG_20200512_195904.jpg