Metal Lathe Carbide Tool Choice & Contact Angle?

MaverickNH

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Newbie here.

My mini-lathe came with AR, BR, AL, BL, E indexable 3/8” carbide tools, that I’m using in a QCTP.

For turning & facing steel, iron, brass and aluminum, I understand speeds and feeds matter, but I’m not sure about which tools to use when and the angle the tool should contact the workpiece at for best outcomes. The R & L, I understand as right-to-left and left-to-right operation - it’s more the A (0) and B (15) part that I’m not clear on, and contact angles.

I’d imagine this has been asked before.

Thanks for the help!

BRET

Hey Bret ! All these angles really depends on the application of what your are doing . Cutting angle could be straight , negative or positive . Facing off to zero doesn't really matter as there is no shoulder to machine to . Turning or facing to a journal determines the shape of the insert you use . The material would determine what inserts to use as they have different coatings , chip breakers etc etc etc . Maybe this would help ?

With the assumption that you've got the standard tool holder set:
The tip of the tool should be flat and intercept the work on the centerline of the spindle. You can verify this by taking a facing cut. It should not leave the little tit in the middle of the cut. Generally, you want the tool to be square to the stock, pointing straight in, but you often have to change this to reach what you're wanting to cut off.
All the other angles are built into the tool bit.

With a QCTP you can set any tool to any angle needed to get the job done.
Generally speaking, the A series is for turning into a shoulder and the B series is for plain turning and facing. The E series is for cutting threads.