Metric threading

ktmmudd

Registered
Registered
New member here. I just picked up a Clausing 4901 lathe and was wondering if it was possible to do metric threading with this lathe. I'm still learning to operate this machine, so any beginner books or videos ( I'm checking out the tublican videos listed on this site ) would be appreciated. Thanks, Keith.

I think you need a 127/100 gear cluster in the gear train driving the leadscrew. John "Doubleboost" has a video on that subject on YouTube. He doesn't have a Clausing, but the principle is still the same.

Tom

I think some guys have found imperial threads that are very close to metric in thread to thread dimensions and used them when cutting meteric threads on a lathe that isn't equipped with the correct gears.

Thanks for the replies, I guess I have some more research to do. If anyone can recommend some books on machining basics and or lathe operation that would be much appreciated. Keith.

I gather the quintessential source for how to use a lathe is a book called "How to run a lathe" by South Bend. It's commonly available and I believe is available free from google books.

As for turning metric threads, I can't help you with setting-up the gears on your machine as, I'm not familiar with it but, I do metric threading on a US pitch machine all the time. My machine has the 100 (US) and 127 (Metric) tooth gear set. With metric threads, you never release the halfnut lever until you're done. I always run the lathe in reverse and cut on the far side. If the part is too long, I don't do it on the lathe but rather, use a die. If I can't use a die, I don't do the job.