Milling machine coolant drains?

Highpower

Registered
Registered
Probably an odd guestion, but I need to ask because I have never personally seen a "proper" coolant system set up on a milling machine. My mill has 2 pipe plugs screwed into the rear of the table at each end, obviously for draining coolant/lubricant from the table when employing flood coolant on a mill. I'm just a hobbyist doing one offs so I don't require flood coolant, but I have been hogging a lot of material lately and even using my little spray bottle is filling up the table with solvent.

I'm just wondering what they use in production shops to hook up these drains to the sump in the machine base? It has to be some type of flexible hose that is water/oil/coolant resistant. The question is what material works for this? :confused:

Last edited by a moderator:
Shops usually use a 90* street el or a T with a rubber hose to the base to drain coolant back. I worked on two Bridgeports with a coolant system. Messy is an understatement. Small chips will clog the hose or fittings, which is why most shops use a T fitting ... so you can clean the hose out from the top.

I see. That is a good point about using a T in the line. But I'm wondering what KIND of rubber hose is used that won't swell up and get soft from contact with oils / coolants?

Well, cost aside, Viton is impervious to most common solvents, but you might do better finding some Teflon. I use the stainless braided supply line like you'd see supplying a kitchen sink for my coolant supply. Of course, the normal size for that would likely be too small for a drain, but there may be something larger available. Lowe's has a selection of various hoses in bulk, so you could do a little experimentation. Just avoid natural rubber in favor of a synthetic.

And a piece of screen across the drain opening will help keep the drain clear.