Mini lathe shimming

maddthom

Registered
Registered
I hope I'm posting in the right place, but I have a question about my mini lathe. If anyone has seen this youtube channel "Adventures with a very Small Lathe" I have the same type of lathe the only difference is mine is 14 inches, his is the 12 inch version. I'm have the same problems that he is, his lastest video is about the saddle, here is a link
. My question, can you shim a moving part? In his video you can see that the saddle is not flat, he uses some gauge blocks to lift the flat side of the saddle to get it about even, to add some more context to my question to fix this problem that me and him are having could you drill and tap some holes to affix a shim plate to the saddle( I'm a beginner I don't know if this is a very bad idea ) or would you have to remachine the V notch to make it deeper? Or would I be better off just ordering a new saddle from Little Machine Shop? Thanks, I was surprised by how quickly and helpful the people are on this forum, thanks again.

Did you just recently purchase this machine? If so I would consider this type of defect to be good reason to consider returning the machine. Talk to your credit card company. Normally, shimming sliding parts is not a great approach, but is sometimes done in a pinch on older, really worn equipment. Should not be required on a new machine though
-Mrk

No, even if I wanted to I can't return it. I bought it with the knowlegde it would have many problems. I thought it would be a way for me to learn by fixing those problems.

Given that you cannot return it and also given that shimming the rear is not a good fix, have you considered milling the front V to the proper dimensions on both the headstock and the saddle? A lathe with these defects is not going to be very accurate at all until you fix it.