Moore #1 Motor Help

unixgeek

Registered
Registered
Hello,
I'll start off by saying that I'm very new to machine tools. I just picked up a Moore #1 Jig Borer to replace my benchtop Enco mill. The Moore came equipped for 440V and I'd like to remedy that. I figured the path of least resistance is to replace the motor with something in 230V single or 3-phase and run a VFD. I pulled off the old motor and found that the mounting face seems sort of unique (at least not something I've seen before). I'm wondering if anyone can give any insight into what case style this motor is. Or maybe I'm barking up the wrong tree searching for a replacement and should modify this motor.

Here are some pictures:

qvh61gDh.jpg

kgzBgsUh.jpg

xuK1pUyh.jpg

Thanks!

qvh61gDh.jpg

kgzBgsUh.jpg

xuK1pUyh.jpg

Howdy, it doesn't appear the company that made this motor is still active but Moore Precision Tool is. The ID tag on the motor doesn't show a frame size so you can't shop around for a match. You might contact Moore to see if they have a 240V motor in either single or 3-phase. Your last &, probably most expensive choice is to have a motor shop rewind this motor for 240V, 3-phase but they usually charge more than the cost of a new motor.

Dave

Mr. Wireaddict is right on track. Not much to add but the strange to you mounting is called a "C" face mount. In the absence of a frame number the Type number may be a lead but other then that 240 3 ph is the way to go.

Also the motor speeds are a little odd from todays designs.

Maybe a sharp rewind guy could take a look and find the splices in the windings and convert this one without having to rewind the whole thing. Sometimes the splices are visible sometimes not.

Good luck, hate to see old iron go to waste!

Edit note: On second thought that is probably why this is a straight voltage motor. With two speeds and the high pole count that is a lot of wire to get into that small a stator. Let alone doubling it to get two voltages!