[4]

Need a way to round corners

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

Stan

Registered
My first project after purchasing a 6x26 mill. I needed a way to round the corners on this motor mount and this is what I came up with. 2-1" bearings, short piece of 1" shaft with a 3/8" threaded hole in the end and 2-3/8"x1"x3" pieces of stock. Used 2 bearings because they were floaters. Mounted the bearings back to back with the 3/8"x1" stock in between to be held in my vice and the shaft is held in place by 4 set screws. I used a counter sink machine bolt to hold the piece that I am rounding in place. This makes sure that the hole will be centered. The corners turned out as nice as the straight cuts. You can see pictures at http://www.flickr.com/photos/stanleygill/sets/72157632458663968/. Please advise me of other methods since I am new at this. Any help will be appreciated.

T

Tom Griffin

Guest - Please Register!
Guest - Please Register!
Those look pretty good. Just be careful to conventional mill as climb milling can grab and get you into trouble.

Other methods to produce arcs like that are the rotary table or just scribe an arc with a pair of dividers and belt sand them.

Tom

DMS

Active User
Registered
Other ways to do that are with a file (hehe), with a rotary table (which you kind of made a simple version of), or on a CNC machine with circular interpolation. Very fine work on that motor mount BTW, looks great.

pburns

Registered
Very Nice. I like your ingenuity.

Winegrower

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member ($10)