Need Advice on First Bridgeport

Tmate

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
I have been using a 6" x 26" Enco bench knee mill for the past 35 years. I've decided to follow the advice of many on the forum and move up to a Bridgeport. There's a spot in my garage with 220 volt single phase power where it will fit, and I would probably use a VFD.

I have been holding off on my decision because of the bulk and weight of most of these machines. A local dealer now has a 9" x 32" Bridgeport with a 1/2 hp 3 phase motor. My import has a 1 hp motor, so this seems somewhat inadequate. Yet if it is inadequate, why would Bridgeport have used it? It also has a #7 Brown & Sharpe taper on the spindle.

I have been told that the M head machines, like this one, are less desirable than the later J heads. Also that the #7 B&S spindle tooling is hard to find. However, the mill only weighs 1,250 lbs, which is a big plus for me, as I could move it with an engine hoist and dolly if necessary.

I would welcome any advice, particularly on the hp and spindle taper. Thanks!

Attachments

• Bridgeport 9x32.jpg
    Bridgeport 9x32.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 38
I believe it was davidpbest that made a good write-up on plusses/minuses of bench top vs. knee mills. The article discusses the types of heads as I recall. Also, search on "bench top vs knee mill" and the like. There are many threads on the subject. I'm still using a bench top mill (RF-45 type) and it still works for me but I'm looking for an excuse for a knee mill too and am researching too.

I believe the M head lacks the backgear found on the J heads? I like the short table machines however, if it's in good shape I'd buy it.
Larger work envelope than your Enco but other than that what is the advantage to you?
-Mark

For a hobby mill the M and the J heads will both work, but the M heads are a little more bothersome to align perfectly.