Need Help: Choosing a mill

MyLilMule

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I am just getting started in machinery, I don't even have my lathe in a working condition. But I KNOW I will be adding a mill to my home hobby workshop within the next year. I've ruled out buying something brand new (budgetary) and don't mind something a little more vintage (old school is cool school) and have ruled out any kind of mill/drill and am only considering knee mills with power feed options.

My questions surround just which mills should I look for and which ones should I avoid? I know very little about them and am just beginning to do the research.

A few points to keep in mind when offering your input:
  • It's for my home hobby shop, not a full time production shop, second job, etc. (I won't make ANY money from it)
  • I have no interest in CNC at this time
  • I don't mind a refurbishment project (my 1941 13" South Bend is getting refreshed, NOT rebuilt to factory specs)
  • I don't care about collectibility or any of that
  • I DO care about availability and AFFORDABILITY of replacement parts
  • I currently don't have 3 phase of any kind
  • I'm NOT looking to make super precision parts for Space-X
  • I don't have buckets of hundos waiting to be spent on frivolous adventures :)
With all that lot in mind, I will basically be looking for a mill that would be priced reasonably, in usable condition, but might need a little love here and there and would be easy enough for a novice to tackle. I am sure there are some models or configurations that someone like me should avoid, and ones that I should snap up if I see it. Are there different tool holding options I should avoid, one kind of collet vs. another, etc.? Are there certain types that are harder or more expensive to fix? Are there ones that came configured for, or can be converted to, single phase 220 easy enough or did they all come from the factory needing 3 phase (via direct/converter/VFD)?