Need help tapping 5/16-22 holes in 304

DMS

Active User
Registered
I have never used 304 before, so take all this with a grain of salt. My thoughts are in no particular order.

1) Could you single point thread them? It would solve your expense with taps, though single point threading an internal thread that small may be fiddly.
2) Maybe substitute 303 for the 304? 303 is more machinable. 304 will work harden readily and that equals bad times.
3) Maybe try a HSS tap. Most common taps I have seen are carbon steel. HSS may last a little longer.

The last thing is that 30x SS is not supposed to be hardenable through heat treating, so I doubt the did anything to it when you brazed it. In any case, the one you finished looks great. How many more?

Hi Jim,
I am thinking that the tubing itself is probably the problem.
Most tubing is drawn cold, and then annealed, IF specified. My guess is that what you have got is nice and shiny polished before you started? Usually if its been annealed it is more of a satiny finish.
I have done a fair bit of work with 316, and some 304, and although it is a tough metal it does machine fairly well. Whilst it is not heat hardenable, it does work harden readily.
I only ever used HSS, never needed cobalt or carbide tools for the job. Used a quality cutting fluid, "ROCOL Ultracut" undiluted. Its pretty hard on the back pocket tho.
You need to slow your speeds down with SS but keep the feed pressure high. Dont allow the tool to "rub" or it will work harden the job very quickly.
Taps do blunt comparitively quickly in SS.

Cheers Phil

Last edited: