Need some advice on replacement for a lathe and milling machine

Doc Hoy

Registered
Registered
I am a hobbyist and novice home machinist. I do some light gun smithing, make parts and jigs for other machines. I am using a Grizzly 10x22 G0602 with an Atlas post. Also have a Wholesale Tools 2 HP mill. This is an old mill which does not have DRO. I am moving to FL and closing down my shop. BUt I will open up again in FL when I get situated.

So I am looking for recommendations for replacements for these to machines.

Lathe:

I like this lathe but can accomodate a SLIGHTLY larger foot print in the shop. I would appreciate a larger spindle diameter (Larger than 1 inch). Apart from that I am not smart enough to know which way to go. I am also not smart enough to know that I may already have the optimal machine and should just stick with another G0602
equivalent.

The Mill that I have is old and worn to the point where it needs some serious work to make it more precise. I like this mill as much as I like the lathe. I am loaded with tooling which I will retain. Should I be trying to get away from a round column? I can also stand a very little bit more space for a mill but I don't want anything huge.

I hope this is the right area on the forum to ask these questions.

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

If you want a little bit bigger lathe, I have this one.

https://www.precisionmatthews.com/shop/pm-1127vf-lb/

It's been a great machine. It's a bit bigger, larger through bore, but not getting into the really big machines. Most of your 1022 tools will work, with the exception of things like chucks, steady rest, etc..

I would think gunsmithing would need a bigger machine, but if a 1022 is getting it done, can't argue with that.