Need suggestions on a simple milling project using a LMS 3990

jrdarrah

Registered
Registered
I finally got the mill trammed and I'm ready to try and make some metal chips unfortunately my first project is a little challenging since I can't find a 5/32" mill with at least a 1" cutting depth. The moving parts of the project are attached. The critical pieces of information are that the steel blocks are 1" high and the hole when closed has a 5/32" diameter and extends the whole height of the blank. In the drawings, the blue and red slide from the open position to allow for the insertion of a copper blank and stop when the opening is round. So far I can't find a end mill 5/32" that has enough cutting depth to take the metal off the side of the two pieces of stock. I guess I could cut as far as I can from the top and then flip it to cut the lower side. My problem with that is I'm new to milling so the odds of me getting it back in the vice properly aligned are low. I thought of milling it with a larger bit that will cut the 1" depth then clamping the two sides together and drilling the hole. I'm thinking the large radius from the bit will remove too much metal so I won't get a hole when I drill with a 5/32" drill.

Given I'm new some of my assumptions are probably faulty. I have some tooling, but my motto is "every new project requires at least one new tool". If I need to buy something else all options on the table. How would you machine these two part to accomplish my end goal?

Attachments

• reed staple roller opened.jpg
    reed staple roller opened.jpg
    620.5 KB · Views: 21
  • reed staple roller closed.jpg
    reed staple roller closed.jpg
    647.8 KB · Views: 20
OK, i think you're looking at this problem the wrong way :) Milling a 5/32 slot 1" deep would terrify an experienced machinist! Luckily there's another way here, and it's brilliantly simple. I'd approach like so: