New lathe setup

MilsurpMonkey

Registered
Registered
Ok, so I did it. Got my lathe home and in the shop. Now what? Now I’m suspecting is the start of the expensive part. Tools and measuring devices. I’m very new to machining, never having done more than turning brake drums and rotors. What are the top priorities to get started? I know the first thing needs to be a machinist level to get my lathe level before starting anything. What is a good one to start with? I don’t mind looking at used stuff, or new stuff, I just want good stuff. What are the most used items for setup? I’m assuming dial indicators and mounts? I do have good mitutoyo calipers and a good set of manual micrometers. What advice can you give a new guy? Ultimately most of my lathe work will be gunsmithing, mixed with whatever other projects a lathe can help with.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I imagine you'll want to cut threads at some point so you should practice that, and dialing in a 4-jaw chuck
You'll need tool bits of course and a toolpost. Small bench grinder to grind HSS tools.
Insert tooling perhaps. Yes on dial indicator and base, plus test indicator(s)
Drill chuck, bits, reamers, taps, live and dead centers, boring bars. Probably some more I forgot
If you do barrel work you'll want to make a spider for supporting them out the back of the spindle
-Mark

This post has some good information for tools in general.

I imagine you'll want to cut threads at some point so you should practice that.
You'll need tool bits of course and a toolpost. Small bench grinder to grind HSS tools
and/or insert tooling. Yes on dial indicator and base, plus test indicator(s)
Drill chuck, bits, reamers, taps, live and dead centers. Probably some more I forgot
If you do barrel work you'll want to make a spider for supporting them out the back of the spindle
-Mark