[4]

New (realy Old) Welder

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

Charley Davidson

Active User
Registered
I haven't actually taken possession of it yet but I have bought an Airco 300 Squarewave tig/stick welder complete wit pedal/torch/leads it is a 3 phase but setup for single phase. Got it for less than 2 tanks of gas in a Ford Ranger. Can't wait to get it to my shop and play with it. I already have a like new water cooler and torch. Any of you have any experience with these welders? Good or Bad? Tips on it's useage? I'm assuming it's scratch start and I have no experience with that at all on tig

T Bredehoft

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
TIG is push the pedal and draw off an arc, feed (by hand) the filler rod. It is similar to torch welding, but easy. I haven't used a TIG welder for 35 years, and wish now I could rationalize one, but no, its not to be.

Ulma Doctor

Infinitely Curious
Airco welders are generally solid, i have not had the pleasure of tiggin on that powerplant, but i'm sure you'll be just fine with it.
Does it have high frequency???

brino

Active User
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Hey Charley,

For TIG inspiration check out the videos by Jody at :
http://www.weldingtipsandtricks.com/

(As long as you don't get discouraged from someone else making it look really easy) ;)

-brino

Ozwelder

Active User
Registered
G day Charlie,
If you can oxy weld with filler wire,you will be able to tig.

It is the basically the hand manipulation same, except you swop the gas heat source for an electric one. Keep in mind that the molten pool is what melts the wire filler and you are off to the races.

The wire filler should be kept within the cover gas envelope to avoid oxidising the tip.

I would be surprised if it did not have an HF start. from the few I have seen Airco stuff was built like a brick dunny and you can expect longevity from it.

Enjoy your new toy mate!

Ozwelder

Charley Davidson