New To Machining With A Question

I have the manual. I dont know why i didnt just look in the back and get the part number for the chuck key. Thank yoi for the help guys!

Hi y'all! This will be a sort of long first post, so please bare with me as I'm totally new to all of this. Been browsing this site for a few weeks now in preperation to begin a new hobby/addiction (machining). I decided to start small with a Jet BD-920N lathe that I got for a very good price. The lathe came with a bunch of extra stuff and including some basic tooling. It was too good to pass up considering it was basically free.

I have been practicing facing and reducing on bolts and some scrap 1/2" steel bar stock of unknown to me metal from work. Today I decided to face and center drill a 12" length. I started by only hanging about an inch and a half out of the chuck, faced and center drilled. I then put in my live center on the tailstock and extended the work piece out.

I began turning down the steel to my desired diameter of .415". While confirming measurments during the turning process, I noticed some variations on the measurments. The front half measures in at .416" while the back half measures in at .427". I then thought maybe I didnt turn in my tailstock enough to support my work, causing some slop. But it was good and tight. So to wrap this essay of a post up, what can I do to eliminate this and get the same diameter on the entire length I'm turning?

Center drill both ends and turn between centers. Turn to dimension about 3" from the TS end. Turn to about .002 full til you get about halfway.Reverse the part,turn to dimension .The 3" turned to dimension is to clear the lathe dog after reversing the part.I leave the part .002 full so the last pass at slow carriage feed leaves a smooth surface.
As mentioned a rest set up in the middle will help with deflection.If the live center is turning ,then the TS is set okay.