New to Me Lathe Need Parts & Advice

carguytroy

Registered
Registered
Hello all. I just purchased an Atlas 618 Lathe. I'm new to all of this so I need a bit of help. It's missing a couple of things mainly a chuck(4 jaw would be nice to find) and a switch for the motor to start with. Where would I find these and how do I know what fits it? It has Timken bearings. I read somewhere on here that makes a difference on the shaft size. It has one tool mount but zero cutting blades. It looks to be in great shape. Gears are good, no play in the bearings, bed looks good. everything seems nice and tight. I do need a belt to go from the motor to the other apparatus that has the handle on it to engage the head unit. I just would like to get the basics so I can see it run and then get some stuff to actually use it. I see at The Little Machine Shop they sell a kit with a quick change post, bits, cutter etc. I thought I should probably pick that up assuming it's worth grabbing to start with? Please help a new guy that knows very little about these. Only lathe I've ever run is a brake lathe and that was a long time ago, but I'm eager to learn.

Oxa tool post size is the one you want and it'll be a great upgrade for this lathe. I had one of these lathes for many years and I really liked it.

For a 4 jaw chuck, keep an eye on eBay and also check out the imports - Yanou is supposed to be half decent. You'll need to make or buy your own 1"*10tpi back plate though. Not too tricky a job if you have the gears and want to do it yourself

If you want to skip the HSS grinding learning curve, a 10mm sclcr turning tool and boring bar, plus a pack of 0604 CCGT inserts will get you started

Have a look here….