New To The Forum. Thinking About A Pm-1030v!

HotChips

Maker of wine, roasted coffee and metal chips
Registered
Hi Everyone,

I'm Pat Bain from Northern California. Just retired and getting ready to fulfill the lifetime dream of owning a lathe. I worked for a number of years as a millwright in a lumber mill, so I've had some experience with with lathes and mills. But I am by no means a machinist!

I was looking pretty heavily at a Grizzly, but reading some of the threads on the forum got me tuned into the PM's. My lathe work will be divided into just tinkering and some gunsmith work. Any thoughts on the 1030V for my purposes? Also, can anyone tell me if a 1030V will fit on a 24" wide bench and where I might get a look at the manual online?

Thanks Much -- Pat

Welcome to H-M Pat!

The 1030's bore of 1" may or may not be a little small for rifle work. I'm not sure, so I'll let others chime in on that. And with a overall length of 52" I have my doubts about it fitting on a 24" wide bench. You may need a little more real estate for that lathe. ;)

Last I talked to Matt at PM, he told me that they are working on some better quality manuals for their machines, but I don't know where they are exactly in that process. You could call and ask though.

Last edited:
Reactions: jer