• We want to encourage those of you who ENJOY our site and find it USEFUL to DONATE and UPGRADE your membership from active member to donating or premium membership. If you want to know the differences in membership benefits, please visit THIS PAGE:

https://www.hobby-machinist.com/premium/

Donating memberships start at just $10 per year. These memberships are in fact donations that help pay our costs, and keep our site running!
    Thank you for your donation, God Bless You

[4]

Newbie here... Oil and lubrication questions...

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

Mauser lover

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member ($10)
To start off (like I have started my previous threads)... I'm a total novice here!

My lathe manual (or the closest thing I can find to a manual for my lathe) says to use "ISO 68 SAE 20W Bearing and Gear Lubricant" (Grizzly manual, some other very similar import lathe)

So, naturally I scoured the web for what I am looking for, and I think I read too much, because now I'm confused. I opened up McMaster-Carr, which seemed to be a popular place to send folks to buy this sort of stuff, and typed in ISO 68. Everything is fantastic so far, I see "Oil", "Food Grade Oil", "Air Compressor Oil", "Food Grade Air Compressor Oil" (is the compressor food grade, or the oil? What does a cook use an air compressor for?), "Chain and Gear Oil" (AHA!), "Hydraulic Oil", "All-Weather Hydraulic Oil", "Food Grade Hydraulic Oil", "Vacuum Pump Oil", and finally "Way Oil".

https://www.mcmaster.com/#iso-68-oil/=1cyz2uf