Newbie With A Question

jackaldrich0

Registered
Registered
Hello, my name is Jack, posting from California. I'm not really a machinist *yet* but I want to be. My background is mostly in woodworking, but I know how to use a hacksaw and a file too.

Currently I'm taking classes in mechanical engineering. I like all the math and science but I want to learn how the "real world" works too - so right now I'm taking physics and chemistry, but also a SolidWorks class and a MasterCAM class. I've done a little drafting and modeling before so I'm pretty comfortable with those programs.

The reason I'm here though, is that since I'm in the MasterCAM class, for the next 16 weeks I have access to a huge beautiful Haas 3 axis CNC mill, and an equally huge and beautiful CNC lathe (and the expertise of a professor who knows how to use them).

I've always heard that a lathe can build itself - I don't have a lathe, but I have access to one that's bigger and better than anything I'll ever be able to afford myself, and I have lots of extra time in my SolidWorks and MasterCAM classes because I usually finish the assignments early. I could use that time to work on physics homework, but...

Are there plans for lathes out there? Could I use that extra class time to model parts for a lathe and cut them? Or would this be an exercise in futility and unnecessary expense? I'd be aiming for something like a mini lathe, maybe a 7x14 or so. I know those can be had relatively cheap, but for me a big part of the fun is in doing it myself... That's why I'm interested in machining in the first place.