[4]

Odd thread pitch question

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

GrayTech

Registered
Registered
Hi all, hoping for a miracle...
Yesterday I broke my lathe, I stripped the half nuts while taking a heavy cut on my craftsman 109. Yes entirely my fault! And I am suitably pi$$ed at myself!!!!
I want to make a new halfnut assembly but this lathe has a weird leadscew. It's 1/2"-16 acme thread. I've scoured the web for a nut this size, then for a tap, but no success. I managed to find a 1/2"-16 tap but it's not acme.
Question 1: if I make a new nut with this standard tap will it work or screw up my leadscrew?
Thanks in advance.
Many more questions to follow I'm sure. I'm relatively new at this.

benmychree

John York
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Are you sure that is a acme thread? I recently saw one of those, and thought that it looked like a vee thread.

tertiaryjim

Active User
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
A regular thread is 60deg but the acme is 29deg with a flatter, wider top. They won't match.
If you can use another lathe or get a friend to do it you could turn a tap and mill the flutes.
Another option, there are some that used a plastic which was heated and molded to the lead screw.
Try searching this site " half nut repair"

dtsh

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
Your threadform and pitch have to match pretty closely, if the tap isn't an ACME and your screw is, they won't be compatible.

It's very hard to see the threadform in the suplied picture, can you get some pictures of the leadscrew and perhaps the damaged half nuts?

mksj

Active User
You may be able to cut your own using a Micro100 carbide tool like this https://www.amazon.com/Micro-100-IAT-750-16-Threading-Projection/dp/B00Q8LVDE2/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_4?s=industrial&ie=UTF8&qid=1526569302&sr=1-4-fkmr0&keywords=acme+tap+1/2+16