One newbie's experience

starr256

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Since being home bound lately, thought I would provide my experience over that last 18 months as a newbie getting into
the hobby of making things from metal. I am a retired software engineer that needed a hobby
that would keep me off the couch. In the beginning, I signed up for use of the machines
at the local makerspace. They were all older machines that were abused by us newbie nitwits. And you had to take down
your setup each time. It was frustrating. I had allocated a budget for a hobby/pastime (less than a bass boat) and
decided to jump in and get my own machine. This is a summary of what I have learned (short form). I am not
advocating anything. Just my experiences. Please note that I am having a marvelous time learning, doing, failing and
succeeding in making chips fly that results in something I can touch.

What I did right.
Bought a new bench top lathe (10x30) and mill (7x27), both with 3/4 HP motors with variable speed controls and DRO
from a reputable dealer with a good warranty.
My reasoning, which has been validated so far, is that I knew almost nothing about either machine and had no skills in
machining metal. Buying new machines, I had a reasonable chance that everything would work out of the box and if not
I could get help figuring it out. Getting bench top machines kept things within the budget (less than a bass boat).
The DRO was added as I knew enough that I would flub things using just the hand wheel graduations. The variable drive
controls were just to make things easier. The surprise was the 3/4 HP motor. These machines are dangerous. And as a
newbie, mistakes would get committed. With greater HP motors, things could easily go catastrophic. With the 3/4 HP,
things will still break and did, but at least metal was not flying all over the place. The 3/4 HP has enough umph
to do what I wanted to get done.