Pm 12x36 Vibration Problem

Nate_L

Registered
Registered
Hello folks -

I've got my new PM 12x36 run in, but I get a lot of vibration with the power on. The top of the (factory mounted) DRO is swinging maybe 1/4" left to right, as are the lamp and coolant nozzle. It's fully developed after just a couple seconds of power. I don't hear anything that seems unusual, but I'm a noob.

The vibration is present even with the whole gearbox out of gear (top left lever between gears). With the belts off, it's pretty smooth. The motor isn't moving around with the belts on, but I'd have to defeat the interlock to know more - which I'm not eager to do.

I've read that the factory rubber belts can take a set; they look okay, but I replaced them with new link belts - didn't help. I haven't experimented with belt tension yet.

I don't see anything that looks crooked or wobbly, inside the gearbox or out. The motor pulley face, with a DTI on it, varies .005 or so; on the diameter, it varies .002. The driven pulley is a little closer to true in both directions.

Should I be fighting to get the pulleys dead on, or is there something else I should look at?

I've got the thing pretty well leveled on eight leveling feet, a couple of which are not firmly on the ground afterwards. I don't yet have the blue plate mounted between the stands, as I thought that might set up some contributing tension (and make the leveling feet harder to reach).

Any advice? Thanks!

That does not sound good. I would call Mat or who ever runs PM.

I have experienced a very similar problem with mine. I have been able to get almost all of the vibration eliminated. Here's how I went about it.