PM-1440GS or Grizzly 0709?? Maybe something else??

Gvgehrig

Registered
Registered
I've sort of narrowed it down to the two machines. I'm a hobbyist with little experience. Making Model A parts, repairing farm machinery, and generally playing around. Would like (maybe) getting into building my own target rifles -- it's been a wish never fulfilled. Currently own a small SouthBend 1939 lathe that is just worn out. I've been watching YouTube videos and preparing spreadsheets, but it leads to more confusion. PM is ten weeks on delivery; people seem more excited about this brand. Also been watching videos of customers receiving their lathes with serious problems. Trying to stay under the $7,000 mark, but is it possible to do so and get a machine that will last 20 years that I can pass to kids or grandkids? Neither company's salesman would compare their equipment and company against the other. I prefer to complain about the price for a short time vs complain about the product for a long time. Any wisdom would be appreciated. Thanks

Both machines look to be constructed from the same castings.

I happen to have a G4003G (a little brother of the 14-40) for two years and it is serving me admirably.

I have the G0709 (14x40) and am very satisfied. (I'm still pretty green at machining too.)It came with a good supply of tooling. The PM is probably a better machine though I can't say for sure. It is well thought of on this forum and I trust most of these guys.
If you have the $$, then buying a better machine just makes sense.

Chuck

I only know about the pm 1340gt(can hold tenths after some modifications) and a 67 harrison boxford. I would stick with a taiwan made lathe and you still will prolly need to do some work on the lathe( vfd, heavier stand, motor upgrade, quality belts, balancing pulleys, etc.). The alternative is spending $12,000 + for a heavy lathe ready to go( likely from Taiwan or eastern Europe). good luck.