Pm 25 Mv

tweinke

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I am looking to by a mill to replace the one on my 3 in 1 Shoptask machine. getting tired of finding ways to get my work at a height that works and the teardown/set up every time I switch from lathe to milling. The replacement cant break the bank. So what I am wondering is the real world performance working with steel etc. Simple impressions from real users would do to help me form an opinion of whether I need to reassess the budget. The 727m is also a runner up but I do not know if the speed range is good enough. One small note to all is I have little machining experience. Most of my work so far has been small parts for garden tractors and the like. I do not have room for anything Bridgeport size so lets not go there, LOL.

I am pleased with my PM25, I've had it since June. In industry I had worked with various machines with DRO (digital read out) so I ordered a two axis (X and Y) unit with mine. The quill has a readout as standard, and the head is not used in machining so it doesn't need a readout. Expect it to equal your 3 in 1 or even exceed it in amount of work, heaviness of cut. But it's not a Bridgeport. I have mine mounted on a counter top (38"), the work surface of the table is 44 1/2 inches. I find it ideal (I'm about 5 10). The variable speed control and belt drive is ideal, you can't hear the machine running in the next room. The largest work I've done on mine was to mill 17" flats on a piece of 7/8 bar stock. That was a lot of cranking and before I built an X drive.

I would encourage you to get the best machine you can afford, I did, would have liked to have a bigger, more versatile, more powerful, CNC machine, but the PM25 does everything I ask it to.

I had one before I upgraded it to a PM450G.
It was a really great little mill.
Keep in mind this is a fairly light weight machine, but it will take decent cuts for it's size and will leave a pretty decent finish as well.