PM 728 Comfort zone

Toro5xi

Registered
Registered
I’m flattening a piece of I think 1018 steel for a chuck mount. Taking a .030 depth of cut with a 3/8 4 flute carbon end mill. All axis locked except direction of travel and very little end mill stick out. 800 rpm I am feeding by hand until I feel machine vibrate and then try and slow down a little. Does this seem like a reasonable cut for a 728 mill?
I am struggling as I have no experience to know when I am pushing the mill to hard. I understand how many of you listen to the machine to determine when you are in the sweet spot. Could someone explain a little more how they determine that? Is a little vibration ok or have I already pushed it to far at that point.
Thanks for any input.

Last edited:
I would have to do the feeds and speeds calculations, but my gut tells me that 800 rpms is a bit slow.
Examine the condition of the cutting surfaces on your endmill, and make sure they are not chipped or rounded.
Are you using a coolant/lubricant with your cut?

I get 920 RPM, with a feed rate of 6 inches per minute, when using a carbon steel endmill.

A picture of the "chips" it is producing would tell us a lot.

Was your Endmill a "value priced" product? The cost/quality of an endmill can make a rather measurable difference. I have seen people think they had a problem with their milling machine, only to discover their endmill was the culprit.

Last edited:
Tom's Techniques (google it for the link) recommends a speed for steel using the simple formula:

RPM = 400 / diameter

The diameter is the size of the work if in a lathe, or the cutter diameter if using a mill. Using that formula, he'd recommend ~1100 RPM. Your 800 RPM's is close enough.

Your mill should handle that work with no issues assuming the steel is actually 1018 mild steel and the end mill is sharp. What do your chips look like? Smoking hot blue? Are you using any coolant? Brushing the chips away as you cut? Some photos may help.

Bruce