Poncho Enterprises Comet-30

Calkidd

Registered
Registered
Hello new here and looking forward to gaining knowledge, starting off with the purchase of a milling machine.

I found a Comet 30 bench mill. Now although I have never owned one I am familiar with operations of machining equipment. However I have no experience with personally owning one.

They're asking $750, but it looks like it's going to need some (a lot) of work. Given the experience of this forum, I am asking, if this is something worth buying and fixing it up? I don't plan on heavy machining. I am more looking for the use of knife making and small projects.

I know it's a clone of a Rong Fu RF-30 or Jet 16. Are parts readily available? I did see the manual for a RF-30 will work, but are parts interchangeable?

Attachments

• Screenshot_20211028-151202_Facebook.jpg
    Screenshot_20211028-151202_Facebook.jpg
    431.8 KB · Views: 112
  • Screenshot_20211028-151158_Facebook.jpg
    Screenshot_20211028-151158_Facebook.jpg
    416.5 KB · Views: 105
  • Screenshot_20211028-151154_Facebook.jpg
    Screenshot_20211028-151154_Facebook.jpg
    397.4 KB · Views: 115
  • Screenshot_20211028-151207_Facebook.jpg
    Screenshot_20211028-151207_Facebook.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 117
I have no idea what happened and why it double posted. I went to edit and it doubled posted.

The round column would be a deal breaker for me. It is a place to start,but you will out grow it quickly.

The round column would be a deal breaker for me. It is a place to start,but you will out grow it quickly.
I get that a knee mill would be more stable. But I am limited in floor space (2 car garage) and every tool I own is on wheels.

I’m not a retired machinist just a hack hobby guy so keep that in mind….
I picked up a well used Busy Bee LC30 about 5 years ago, it came with a 600V 3-phase motor so I ended up changing the motor to a 3 phase 240V motor and using a VFD. I paid $500Cdn so I think they are asking a bit much.