Potential for corrosion with zinc plated, zinc yellow chromate plated, and mild steel parts?

kornfeld

Registered
Registered
Hi, noob here. :)

I'm machining a few small parts for usage on the floor inside of a car. So, it isn't a boat or anything, but there is definitely the potential for it to get damp occasionally.

I'm trying to use as many off-the-shelf parts as possible, but the machined component is made out of mild steel. It's basically just a piece of mild steel that's internally threaded to accept a bolt. Then I'm hoping to thread a regular bolt into it.

Here are my questions:

1. If I thread a zinc-plated bolt into that mild steel part, along with a zinc zellow chromate plated washer, how severe is the potential for corrosion between any or all of those components?

2. What can I do to prevent corrosion in the threads? Will loctite help with this?

3. Any other thoughts or suggestions?

Thank you in advance. :)

1. If I thread a zinc-plated bolt into that mild steel part, along with a zinc zellow chromate plated washer, how severe is the potential for corrosion between any or all of those components?
Since yellow zinc does not spontaneously corrode the bolt, I would think there's little concern here. Remember, galvanic circuits require a salt bridge, or else they're not galvanic cels. That occurs in engines because the coolant serves as an electrolyte. It's most severe where anodic parts are insulated from the surrounding metal, like metal sleeved rubber bushings in a pipe. When the coated bolts are in contact with the base metal, not much will happen- it's like a side chain circuit there. I know that bridges and the statue of liberty have shown signs after 100 years, but those are collosus constructions that are bound to have strange effects like resonances or electron accumulation.