• We want to encourage those of you who ENJOY our site and find it USEFUL to DONATE and UPGRADE your membership from active member to donating or premium membership. If you want to know the differences in membership benefits, please visit THIS PAGE:

    https://www.hobby-machinist.com/premium/

    Donating memberships start at just $10 per year. These memberships are in fact donations that help pay our costs, and keep our site running!
    Thank you for your donation, God Bless You

  • As some of you know, I have wanted to stop managing H-M for some time. It's a tremendous strain on my personal life. I want to set up my own shop. In September, September 15, to be exact, it will be 8 years that Hobby-Machinist has been in existence.

    I have been training VTCNC to run things here. Dabbler is going to learn too. I feel that they are ready to start taking over the operation. I will be here to help in case they need, but I don't think they will. Tony Wells is and will be here also to consult with. I will be doing backups, upgrades, and installing addons. Other than that, I will not be around. I am leaving this place in good operating condition, and financial condition.
    --Nelson
[4]

Potentiometer question on 1340GT

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

81husky

Swarf
Registered
Joined
Nov 25, 2013
Messages
20
Likes
6
#1
I have a new 3 phase 1340GT lathe with Hitachi WJ200 VFD, and have it wired up per Zmotorsports wiring diagram. Everything works as it should, but I'm only getting 8hz max on the VFD display, and as a result no motor speed. The pot is a 1K, 2 watt unit that cost around $12, so not a high ticket item. The frequency changes only at the last bit of rotation of the pot knob, and is opposite of what I would expect. I have the VFD set to 80 hz max per the A004 parameter. Can the pot be causing the problem, or is there something in the VFD programming that I may have missed?
 

Clock work

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Nov 25, 2016
Messages
160
Likes
118
#2
Can you use an ohmmeter to verify that you have full impedance end to end on the outside and variable impedance between the wiper and each end?
 

mksj

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
1,831
Likes
2,237
#3
Check the pot works with an ohm meter, make sure the connection are to the H, O, L terminals, NOT OI. If the speed goes down as you turn up the pot, then switch the H and L wires.

Check the following parameters:

A001 Frequency source 01 (Control terminal)
A004 Maximum frequency 80
A013 [O] input active range start voltage 0 %
A014 [O] input active range end voltage 100 %
A061 Frequency upper limit 80 (or 0.00 which will deactivate this setting)

A076 PV source 01 ([O] terminal (voltage in))

Recheck the maximum frequency that the decimal place is correct, i.e.something like 80.00
 

81husky

Swarf
Registered
Joined
Nov 25, 2013
Messages
20
Likes
6
#4
The pot is 915 ohms from the 2 outer terminals. 874 ohms from center to one side at max, and 942 from center to other side. Parameters were as you recommended with the exception of A014 which was 99. I changed it to 0, and the motor is running same as before. The jog speed and the normal operating speed seem to be the same. Could I have something amiss in the jog wiring?
 

mksj

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
1,831
Likes
2,237
#5
The pot should sweep from the middle connection from 0-1K to either side. The value you measured is fine they are usually +/-10% and it makes no difference.
A014 is 100
The jog frequency is typically 6.0 so if you are showing 8.0 Hz, then you may have an error somewhere else. You might need to reset the VFD and reprogram it. See the attached document.
 

Attachments

81husky

Swarf
Registered
Joined
Nov 25, 2013
Messages
20
Likes
6
#6
I'm not sure exactly what was wrong, but a re-set and re-program has solved the issue. Thank you very much!
 
[6]
[5] [7]
Top