Power Drive Not Driving All The Way

Threadkiller

Registered
Registered
Hey all, I have an old craftsman 101 6" lathe that a buddy of mine generously gifted to me when he got his bigger south bend. It was out of commission for a while because of a few little hiccups and motor problems. I got it running the other day and to my dismay I found that the lead screw power drive (I think thats what you call it im a total lathe noob) doesnt work all the way. The carriage/apron? The part with the cross slide doesnt continue all the way on the lead screw. The threads of the lead screw all galled up in a few spots but not where it stops. Would a new lead screw solve this problem? Also I want to get a new quick change tool post for it, it has a lantern style post right now. From what Ive found as options for tool posts online are very vague. Can anyone point me in the right direction for a quick change tool post for a lathe like this? Thank you in advance.

Ive attached some pictures of the lathe from a while ago before I got it running just so you guys know what lathe im talking about.

image1.JPG image3.JPG image4.JPG

Check the lead screw for wear. Chances are on an okd lathe, both the lead screw and the half nuts are worn to the point where they will no longer engage. The wear will be closest nearest the head stock and if you compare the thread profile in that region to the threads at the far end of the lead screw, you shoulde be able to see the difference.

The half nuts are located on the right side of the apron behind the engagement lever. They are made of Zamak or white metal and wear easily, particularly if the lead screw is not kept clean. I have replaced both the lead screw and the half nuts on my 6" Craftsman decades ago. I don't know if you can still get those parts from Clausing; I would expect not.