Printing milling fixtures

HEPHAESTUS

Registered
Registered
I'm new to owning a knee mill. Not new to 3d printing. Hobby / amateur machinist status. I'm wondering if anyone here has had any success printing custom holding fixtures?

Here's what I'm wanting to do:

I will 3d-print the blue 7-sided collet and vise block in these pics. Then I will center on the part ID. Using a 1/4" end mill I'll offset my center by 1/8" along one axis. Then I will run the mill all the way through both sides of the round part. This will cut one edge of one tooth and the opposite edge of the opposing tooth. The rectangles imposed on the round part in the one pic will be my cuts. By rotating my block I'll just run the cut along the same axis again all the way through. After repeating this 7 times I should have all 14 cuts done accurately. I'll probably rubber cement the piece into the collet so that it doesn't rotate on accident when I am rotating the collet / it isn't in the vise. Anyone see any issues with this idea?

I'll probably also print a 6-sided collet so that I can flip it over and cut a hex on the other side for the socket.

Think these will be rigid enough with the vise clamping on them?

Attachments

• crank yanker cut pattern.JPG
    crank yanker cut pattern.JPG
    327.3 KB · Views: 157
  • crank yanker machine assy.JPG
    crank yanker machine assy.JPG
    207.2 KB · Views: 162
Interesting idea!
I have never done or seen anything done like that.
It's a 3D printed collet for a awkward shaped work-piece.

As you know, the rigidity of the plastic holder will be greatly affected by the infill percentage you use when 3D printing it. That will also affect how hard you can tighten the vise.

A couple more thoughts:
I have seen people using cyanoacrylate adhesives to hold awkward shapes, but not rubber cement.
The CA adhesive can be released with heat; but do NOT breathe any fumes!