Pritchel Hole Question

SE18

Active User
Registered
I sprang for this: http://www.harborfreight.com/55-lb-rugged-cast-iron-anvil-69161.html

was gonna build one from railroad rail but this is beefier and $80 something. Only thing missing is pritchel.

Do you think it would be worth it to try and drill one? Looks like face might be hardened and I didn't want to do a half-assed job.

I'm thinking maybe make a pritchel hole in a square steel, harden it and place it in the Hardy?

I'm just getting started in blacksmithing.

FIrst thing I think I'll try my hand out at is making blacksmithing tools and things to go in the Hardie

You can easily do without a pritchel hole -- not all anvils came with them anyway. My old Peter Wright, for instance does not have one but it's still a very serviceable bit of kit. At 55lbs, the HF anvil is unlikely to be your last if you stick with smithing for any length of time.

-frank

I sprang for this: http://www.harborfreight.com/55-lb-rugged-cast-iron-anvil-69161.html

was gonna build one from railroad rail but this is beefier and $80 something. Only thing missing is pritchel.

Do you think it would be worth it to try and drill one? Looks like face might be hardened and I didn't want to do a half-assed job.

I'm thinking maybe make a pritchel hole in a square steel, harden it and place it in the Hardy?

I'm just getting started in blacksmithing.

FIrst thing I think I'll try my hand out at is making blacksmithing tools and things to go in the Hardie

A pritchel hole is handy if you are going to do any hot punching but your idea of placing a bushing in the hardy hole should work as well. The good thing about that solution is it is reversible while drilling an additional hole is not. You can always add the hole later if you find it inconvenient to use your accessory.

Bob