Pulled the Trigger on 12x37

Steve M

Active User
Registered
I bought an ENCO 3 in 1 a couple of years ago as a way to get into metal machining. At one point in my career I worked in a jet engine overhaul facility as an engineer and spent much of my time dealing with quality issues in the machine shops so ave some exposure to machining. I am also a woodworker and have done lathe turning for years. The 3 in 1 was good for a starter lathe and has some interesting features but shortcomings as well. I used the mill feature a little but it has some real limitations.

Last year I helped clean out an estate and acquired a Central Machinery 12x36 that had lived in a lean-to in TX for 12 yrs and had never been cleaned. I got it cleaned up and running with no major issues and really loved its features but decided it was too big for me. I traded it off for some work on my Tundra and planned to upgrade to something halfway between the 3 in 1 and the 12x. I quickly found out that the 9x, 10x and 11x machines were all lacking in 12x features save for the PM1127 and one other.

Looked around at used but here in Central TX good used machines are few and expensive. Didn't seem a good way to go wen comparing features to the imports.