Question about gear repair

56FordGuy

Registered
Registered
A friend of mine is restoring a John Deere model 60 tractor. He's found the differential ring gear is damaged, the original was missing about 30% of one tooth. Bought a replacement, only to find one tooth of the replacement gear is also cracked.

The gear teeth seem to be hardened. We've done a bit of reading on potential repairs, but it sounds like building up with a weld or braze would damage the heat treating of the gear. I'm a green hobbyist, so this type of repair feels very out of my league. I've included photos of the damage on both gears. Would these be considered repairable? They take a pretty good load when the tractor is moving, and the tractor has to be split in half to access them. If one was repaired, and the repair failed it's a pretty big job to get back in there.

Any advice would be appreciated!

IMG_2703.jpgIMG_2669.jpg

IMG_2703.jpg IMG_2669.jpg

Subscribed!

Hey 56FG, didn't know you where a member here as well!

Hey 56FG, didn't know you where a member here as well!

After your recommendation, I am. Do more reading than posting, working on the lathe is a different ballgame from working on the anvil.

As for the gears, we've found that they're two piece gears similar to the flywheel and ring gear of an engine. The inner web is cast, the outer ring is press fit and appears to be pinned as well. Not sure if that would make a difference on repair options or not.

You might try nickel-silver braze build up and set up on a mill and grind a flycutter to match the tooth profile. Then make an attempt to re-cut the gear tooth profile. But looking at the heavy wear from use, I doubt any repair without re-hardening the gear tooth is going to last for any period of time. Best bet is searching for a good replacement. Someone out there is bound to have one. It might be pricy though!