Replacement Logan cross feed dial (big snough for old eyes)

M

Mister Ed

Forum Guest
Register Today
Ok, after life getting in the way for the last 6 months I am finally back on the kick to redo the cross feed dials on the 210. Well there certainly is a lot of 'buzz' on this subject since MrPete's video series. However, I really want to go with 200 graduations and a large (3") dial ... without loosing working capacity. So, really I want to recreate the Stelling set up, or very similar. Most of the external dimensions of the Stelling are available (I think even reposted here someplace). But I have a few questions if there is anyone that is familiar with them.
  • Did stelling dials use the original cross slide screw?
  • What did the internals look like? Bushings, thrust bearings, ets?
  • Was the graduated ring adjustable (zero-able)? Or was it solid with the rest of the movable dial?
Like I said, still in the planning stages (again) ... and I am not that good at planning these type things out, LOL.

Anything like this? I've seen this dial on Logans but I don't recall who made it. I probably had it apart 20 years ago when I restored the lathe but I don't recall any details. The dial doesn't appear to be zeroable.

logan1.jpg Logan2.jpg

Alan - That is interesting, is that on a Logan? If not, is it aftermarket? Does it impact the usable area of the cross slide?

This is a pic from Ryan @ thepitching machine.com. He has a post on his site to use his pics freely.
012_StellingDial.jpg

There are more pics of this same dial here (on this site):
Stelling Dial Measurements

012_StellingDial.jpg

Yes the cross slide does run into it eventually. The dial is 3 3/4" diameter and is on a Logan 955. I've seen photos of others so I know it was a standard accessory from someone.