Replacement Milling Machine

Patrick

Registered
Registered
Hi Guys and Gals, I have been using a Rong Fu table mill for the past 28 years with excellent service for what I do. I have used it for making front end parts for the two street rods I built and a few small stationary steam engines. Now I building a 3/4" scale live steam locomotive and decided I needed just a little better accuracy to get the results I'm looking for. So I decided on a new JET milling machine rather than a used Bridgeport or Tree mill. I have not been impressed with the used equipment that I have looked at and can't afford a new Bridgeport or Tree. After several months of looking I started leaning towards a new import. Looked at many import machines and the cost verses quality led me towards a Jet machine. It is an 8x36 variable speed, single phase machine and have had this machine now for two months and am very happy with the quality and tolerance's that I am getting from an import. The one time I called the vendor had excellent response and customer service. It may not be the best machine manufactured but for a home shop with the type of hobby work I do, it worked out great.

Regards

P1020126.JPG

That's a nice machine. I'd be proud to have it in my shop.

Congrats on your machine. One thing though, I don't think that's a JET but rather a Precision Matthews. I have pictures of the machine from my trip to PM in January. That is the Chinese version of the 935 model we currently sell. We stopped carrying the 836 because, 935 is a Taiwanese machine and not that more expensive -so nobody was placing orders for the 836. It's a very good machine in it's class though and about the same comparison as the 1236 is to the 1340.

Ray