RF-20 Electrical Question

shell70634

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
I have a WT Rf-20 mill/drill with a broken switch. My questions are:
1. Where can I get a replacement?
2. Is the motor capable of reversing and is the switch missing a reverse button?
3. If I can't find a replacement switch can I adapt a drum switch that I can get from McMaster Carr?
4. Can the motor be set up to operate on 220?
IMG_1169.JPG
IMG_1173.JPG
IMG_1176.JPG

Don't know how to rotate pics. They're oriented correctly on my computer.

I'm no expert, but typically if a motor can be operated at 110 or 220, it will state that on the data plate.

tcweb, I thought so too but I have a older Craftsman planer that is marked 110 on the outside but inside the cover are instructions to convert to 220. All the specs in the manual say 110 but the last page said it was 110/220.

unless i'm mistaken,
the 4 poles run in parallel for 110v
for 220v operation, the 4 poles would run in series

Your third photo looks like the configuration for forward and reverse. Reversing a capacitor start motor is accomplished by reversing the one of the two windings. One winding would be 1-3 and the other would be 2-4. Check out with an ohmmeter to confirm.

A drum switch will do the job but in this case a simple dpdt (double pole, double throw) switch will work as you have separate on/off control.

My guess is that the motor is 110v operation only. Mike is correct for convertible motors but being able to switch from 110 to 220 requires that the connections between the two run windings are brought out to a terminal block and that the motor was not set up with the two run windings in series for 110 operation.