Rough Finish on 1" Hot Rolled Steel

JRT

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Any recommendations of things to try here in regards to turning a better finish? As I was advised in a post about some different material, it's possible that the tool tip is not rounded enough but I don't yet have the knowlede of making one.

current set-up:
- lead screw turning at .0024, as slow as it can turn
- spindle is at 380 RPM.
- steel is a 1" hot rolled bar I had laying around
- I'm using a new HSS insert with some cutting fluid

Maybe it's just meant to be with this particular steel... I'm new at learning feeds and speeds so it's probably also operator error. I'm just looking for any recommendations to try. I did try cutting it at 540 RPM to no improvement. Should I try upping the spindle speed even more? The higher the speed, the more scared I get! Happy Friday! -John

IMG-9458.jpg

Some types of steel just turn rough. The finish can be improved somewhat by going with a cutter that has a larger radius at the tip, but that will increase the power needed to make the cut.

I made a vertical shear bit for situations where I want a better finish on stuff like this. It definitely improves the finish but is limited to very shallow DOC's. There have been a number of discussion threads regarding this type of cutter if you're curious.

On the theory that a very large radius would work, I've been wanting to make a tangential style toolholder that accepts round HSS bits but haven't gotten around to it yet. I have a small benchtop lathe with limited power so it definitely would be limited to small DOCs.

Some of that is due to the steel and some is due to the cutting tool
A tool with more rake and relief would do better- with a keen, slightly rounded edge
Kennametal CCGT3251HP series carbide inserts work very well on small lathes:
KC730 for ferrous
KC5410 for non-ferrous

Last edited: