Ryobi Band Saw From Homedepot

prasad

Active User
Registered
A few months back I got a gift from my son - a Ryobi benchtop bandsaw. It looked good and I was happy that I could retire my hacksaw. I started using it for cutting aluminum and initially it looked fine mainly because of the speed at which it could cut. As I continued I started noticing the cuts were not truly going straight even when I use the sliding guide to clamp the work that I am cutting. I studied many Youtube videos and most recommended I adjust the blade guides at top and under the platform. I have adjusted them and I still find the blade drifts to a side. I never get a cut on a straight line that I want. Let alone cutting an arc. Is there a way to make it work better?

I have almost switched back to hand held hacksaw.

Thanks
Prasad

I have one of those and only use it for wood. The blade just keeps wandering so I have to just cut as close to my lines as I dare and keep shifting part to get blade to cut better. I use it very little since I got an old craftsman for free.

I have one of those and only use it for wood. The blade just keeps wandering so I have to just cut as close to my lines as I dare and keep shifting part to get blade to cut better. I use it very little since I got an old craftsman for free.
Bill

I have tried cutting wood too and it drifts off at angle. I never get it straight ever. Adjusting pins made a small improvement but not like what I see in those Youtube videos. I wonder if there is a way to make it work better.

Prasad

Bill

I have tried cutting wood too and it drifts off at angle. I never get it straight ever. Adjusting pins made a small improvement but not like what I see in those Youtube videos. I wonder if there is a way to make it work better.

Prasad